Chesapeake Bay Commission Elects Senator Sarah Elfreth As 2022 Chair

Bipartisan Commission Works To Protect and Restore Chesapeake Bay Watershed


At the conclusion of their two-day meeting in Annapolis on January 10, the members of the Chesapeake Bay Commission (CBC) elected their officers for 2022, including naming Maryland Senator Sarah Elfreth as chair of the commission. The CBC is a tri-state legislative body, with bipartisan membership from Maryland, Pennsylvania and Virginia that works to advance policy at all levels of government to restore and protect the Chesapeake Bay watershed. The CBC is the only legislative member of the Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership.

“It's an absolute honor to take the reins (and gavel) of this phenomenal organization dedicated to bringing bipartisan, multi-state policy solutions to tackle the complex challenges facing our greatest natural treasure, the Chesapeake Bay,” Elfreth said.

“This is a pivotal moment in time — we are just four short years and a tremendous amount of work away from reaching our Watershed Implementation Plan goals,” she continued. “The commission has a 40-year history of achieving real legislative and budget wins in all three states on behalf of the bay, even in the face of pressures such as population increase and a changing climate. Now is the time to target not just the WIP goals that are in greatest need of our help but the streams, rivers, and tributaries that are most impaired. We can and will use the best science, dedicated partners, and increased federal and state investments to make meaningful progress in protecting and restoring the bay for generations to come.

“I'm deeply humbled by the confidence my colleagues have in me and I'm excited to dig into the important work ahead!”


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here