Feisty Fireworks Are Girls Hoops Club Champs


The 2020 Feisty Fireworks are the Green Hornets girls club basketball fourth-grade champions.

The team’s explosive arsenal of Rowan Berman, Millie Evans, Maddie Hale, Preslie Havens, Molly Koistinen, Lila Posey, Claudia Somerset, Ava Swartz, Olivia Swartz and Sienna Thompson engineered their basketball pyrotechnics in a 9-7 double-overtime win over Team Davis in the final game of the season at Benfield Elementary School on February 22.

Hale lit the fuse with a basket in the second quarter to tie the game at 4-4. Koistinen’s flash and flare helped secure overtime with two big free throws at the close of regulation. Evans detonated in overtime, scoring the winning basket on a back-door layup off a pick-and-roll play and pass from Koistinen.

Bob Evans coached the team with Mark Koistinen.

“This was a great group of girls, really fun to coach,” said Evans. “A true team effort was the key to our success.”


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment