AACPL Board Of Trustees Appoints  Student Member For 2024-2025 Term 

Board Elects Damita McDonald As New First Vice Chair


Members of the Anne Arundel County Public Library’s (AACPL) Board of Trustees have appointed Margot Argeles, of Severna Park, as the second-ever student board member. The Severna Park High School rising senior has full voting rights and will attend her first board committee meeting on August 15. Board members also elected Severn resident Damita McDonald to serve as the group’s first vice chair.

“We look forward to welcoming Margot to the board,” said AACPL Board of Trustees chair Christopher Nelson. “The student perspective is critical to ensuring we have a robust library system for teens, and I know she will serve as an enthusiastic ambassador for AACPL.”

The student trustee position provides the selected individual with an opportunity to learn about board governance and gain valuable real-world experience serving on a governing body. Additionally, the library and its board gain insight into students’ points of view on library resources, programs and materials. The student member provides valuable information that enables the system to better serve its young adult customers.

"I am excited and honored to step into the role as the second student member of the AACPL Board of Trustees,” said Argeles, who is also a member of the Anne Arundel County Youth Advisory Council. “I hope to help ensure that every student feels empowered to explore, excited to learn and supported within the safe space created by our community libraries.”

The AACPL Board of Trustees is the library’s governing body comprised of 18 members representing all areas of the county. Trustees come to their volunteer roles with a range of experiences and backgrounds, and a strong desire to ensure the long-term vitality of public libraries. Board members must be residents of Anne Arundel County.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here