May 25, 2018
55° Scattered Clouds

Green Hornets Lacrosse Girls Honored With Terry Robinson Sportsmanship Awards

Colin Murphy
View Bio
June 28, 2017

Green Hornets girls lacrosse players, families and coaches gathered at Kinder Park on May 30 to honor the recipients of the eighth annual Terry E. Robinson Memorial Sportsmanship Awards.

Established in 2010, the award is given each year to one player from every Green Hornets girls lacrosse team in recognition of that player’s sportsmanship, responsibility, self-control and respect for opponents, officials, coaches and teammates.

PHOTO GALLERY: Terry Robinson Sportsmanship Awards Ceremony

The award was established in honor of Terry E. Robinson, a Green Hornets girls lacrosse coach for more than 12 years. Robinson was a much-loved supporter of youth sports and served as a positive force in the lives of many athletes before his passing in 2009.

Recipients received personalized plaques commemorating their achievement and brief praiseful speeches given in front of family by Lorie Hankins, Robinson’s wife, and Green Hornets girls lacrosse commissioner Kyndle Quinones.

Former winners of the award include Rachel Vander Kolk, the current starting goalkeeper at the University of Virginia who played for Robinson with Green Hornets before starring at Severna Park High School; and Caroline Steele, who starred in basketball and lacrosse at Severn, was an Under-Armour All American in high school and now plays for the national-champion University of Maryland Terrapins women’s lacrosse team.

This year’s recipients from the Sticklettes age group are Regan Graves, Reese Bergman, Elizabeth Mallare, Anna Mello, Anya Diggs, Evie Vanech, Caitlin Bender, Ava Deegan, Taylor Edwards, Malin Jones, Nora Songer and Malaya Howe. The Peewee-level winners are Josie Crockett, Lillian McCallister, Grace Daly, Keira Abere, Erin Hussey, Gabi Villegas, Ailee Briggs and Isabelle Chen. The Middie-age group winners are Elisabeth Stoudt, Lillie Johnson, Madison Buckley, Julia Vincent and Ariana Paydo. The Junior age group winners are Aidan Ireland, Meredith DePole and Macey Scott.

Sidebar Ad

Faces of the Voice

  • Zach Sparks
    Assistant Editor
  • William Nauman
    Creative Director
  • Brian Lancione
    V.P., Operations
  • Colin Murphy
    Sports Editor
    @ArVoiceSports / @ColinAJMurphy
    @SPVoiceSports / @ColinAJMurphy
    @PVoiceSports / @ColinAJMurphy
  • Lonnie Lancione
  • Dylan Roche
  • Dianna Lancione
  • Larry Sells
    Vice President, Sales and Development

Latest Tweets

  • SPVoiceSports

    RT @ICSAthletics: These are paid, part-time contractual positions with the possibility of being full-time depending on teaching qualificati…
  • SPVoiceSports

    Umm excuse me sirs no guns allowed inside the stadium
  • SPVoiceSports

    “Did you get hit in the face during the game?” “No, a teammate punched me when we were celebrating."

Events Calendar

Request an Advertising Quote

Please do not add dashes. (ex: 4106479400)
Do not enter anything here.
Search Articles
Search Authors
Search Blog